5A – Event Flier Project

5A Event Flier Project - Police kneeling5A Event Flier Screenshot

Message:

I wanted to shed more light on the tragedy that continues. All lives matter but with all the movements going on people are not seeing good police as protector but enemies and this is hurting our society. Killings are becoming normal and just in this past week 5 officers were killed in 4 days. I thought it was important to remind everyone that Police lives are important too and they have families as well.

Audience:

Everyone, because  we believe that  Police are still good. We may have  family members, spouse, friends, neighbors, or church members. It is for those who were taught that police is intended to protect and know right from wrong. I know that they have been getting a bad rap lately, but not all are bad, they took an oath “to protect and to serve” and most do just that everyday.

Color Scheme and Color Names

I used Monochromatic because law enforcement’s color is mostly blue. I used blues. Dark Blue for the page color, Blue lighter 60% for the text and blue for the website’s address. I added white because the colors they use are white and black so I used the White for the subtitle.

Critique Report

Kelly Coppin
Remove
Kelly Coppin Hi Erika! I really enjoy your flier idea and how you tied in the coloring and the poem. I have a couple suggestions and feel free to pick and choose what you think is actually helpful! I think all the text is a little overwhelming. I’m not able to easily pick up the information I need like the date, time, price, and what i’m really looking at the flier for. Is it an event or just remembering them? It also looks like the police officers head got cut off. I would try to find a way to simplify the overall design. It almost needs more “white space”. Also one other small thing is that there seems to be a lot of different text. The typewriter text is hard to read on the dark blue background because of how thin it is. I hope that helps!
Kristen Larson
Remove
Kristen Larson I love the blue! One of my favorite colors! Here is your video feedback: http://screencast.com/t/Yy7zf5L9Llm
Elizabeth McDonald
Remove
Elizabeth McDonald Hi Erika! I love that you brought this current crisis to our homework assignment. Your timing is impeccable! As for a critique, I believe, Kelly is right on point with it feeling a bit overwhelming. This is an emotionally heavy topic, so it would beSee More
Pollyanna Reyes
Remove
Pollyanna ReyesErika, I love what you have done. It is sad that we even have to have events like this for our policemen or for anyone. Like Kelly above, I think there is too much text. Condense it a little because it is too much to read for a flyer. I would also suggest putting the logos at the bottom and making them a little smaller. The policman’s head looks like it is cut off at the top. Maybe you can soften the edges a little using, Format – shape effects – soften edges. That might help. Good Job!
I critiqued Jesus Arredondo and Emily Ratcliff

I took the recommendations I was given, such as taking much of the text out. Giving more whitespace, trying to make it more cleaner. I used a hyperlink for the Policemen’s Prayer because Sister Larson advised I could add it because it was important but not pertinent to the flier itself. I changed font colors, and changed it to just one. I tried to fix the police officers head but it was very visible that it was cut off.

Photo Credit:

Police Kneeling: https://ixquick-proxy.com/do/spg/show_picture.pl?l=english&rais=1&oiu=http%3A%2F%2Fmedia-cache-ak0.pinimg.com%2F736x%2Fe6%2F15%2F75%2Fe61575f6ba345c0d95694deee5f23d5f.jpg&sp=a4e34406fb699f8a39425d0df7634ef6

Police Officer Badge: https://ixquick-proxy.com/do/spg/show_picture.pl?l=english&rais=1&oiu=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.lapdonline.org%2Fassets%2Fpng%2FLAPD-Badge-Hero-sized.png&sp=77f7257d172d5d06cd39ea5b6bd61fe4

I used Monotype Corsiva (48) for the Title, Ebrima (18) for subtitle, (14) for Date and Time (12) for body.

 

3 thoughts on “5A – Event Flier Project

  1. Heather says:

    Erika, your flyer turned out great! I like the changes you made to it and I really like the message. I like the splash of yellow in the badge, it adds a little variety. Great job.

    Like

  2. megankezellrempel says:

    Erika, I am super impressed with this event flier! I love the blue colors you used. I also really like the picture of the police officer you used, it looks like a sketch. The white font on the blue background makes it stand out and easy to read. Great job Erika!
    Here is a link to my blog: https://megankezellblog.wordpress.com/category/design/
    Here is the link to Elizabeth Mcdonald’s blog: https://4happyhomes.wordpress.com/blog/

    Like

Leave a Reply

